Vintage Laundry Room Organization

Posted on Updated on

Laundry Room Collage 1

I wanted to title this post, “How to Organize Your Laundry Room and Make it Look Cute When You Can’t Afford To” but I have a hard time using so many words.

HAHAHAHAHAAAAAA!!!!

Those of you who know me in real life can stop laughing now.

I really would love to have one of those “perfect” laundry rooms. Wouldn’t you? If you do, that’s awesome! I hope you can still use some of my ideas. If you do not have one of those laundry rooms, this post is for you! Realistically, most of us won’t be able to custom order a new laundry room with our new house. This will be another of my REAL posts for REAL people with REAL rooms and REAL budgets. Our own laundry room is a former back porch that was enclosed years before it was ours. On one side, the wall is covered with ancient exterior siding that has two windows in it. Also, it has a lot lot lot of holes! Holes in all sizes and shapes. They might be from the old knob and tube electrical wiring, or clotheslines, or shelving. Maybe someone may have tried to hang things up with copious amounts of nails until she found a place that was “just right” for the items to hang. Maybe. Before Pinterest taught her not to do such a thing.
Maybe.

Moving onward, there is a small, side wall that still has an original window on it. The remaining walls are wood paneling. Probably from the 70’s. These walls have “modern” windows in them. They also are probably from the 70’s. In other words, ours is not the prettiest of laundry rooms.

One of these days, I’d like to completely revamp the laundry room. Did I mention the walls are 80’s green and blue? The blue that goes with geese wearing bows? Thankfully, our laundry room is sans geese, but for now, the green and blue stay.

I did some organizing, that I think looks kinda cool. I’ve had some nice compliments on it as well. People think it’s cute and fun. And it is, thank you very much! 🙂  By the way, this is the room we keep our pantry in. Since you’ve already seen that, today I’ll only be concentrating on the end that contains the laundry area. Plus, I have to clean it up for the pictures and where else but the countertop would I put all the stuff??? lol…. I kid, I kid. It really is pretty organized, so as per my usual m.o., I’ll be showing you the realistic pictures.

Here’s the view that greets our visitors who enter our home through the former back porch….

wpid-photogrid_1399063365037.jpg

First, I bought (what I thought was) a decent organizing hamper. One with a nifty rod for hanging clothes on. It pretty much immediately fell apart. So, I went back and bought a more expensive more-than-decent sorting hamper. It’s made of metal and heavy duty fabric. I know it isn’t, but it seems almost indestructible! We are pretty (very) rough on it and it’s held up for years with only a couple tightenings of nuts and bolts. FYI, I found it at Wal-Mart. You can find one at this link…

http://www.homedecorators.com/detail.php?parentid=04764&aid=google.push&cm_mmc=SEM%7CHDC%7CG%7CPLA&gclid=CNLByP_Xjb4CFcJqfgodHkQA3A&kwid=productads-plaid

Here’s mine….

wpid-photogrid_1399050927496.jpg

We’ve probably had it about 5 years. In that time, none of the stitching has ripped or even stretched. You can see how stuffed I keep it, so it’s definitely heavy-duty. The canvas bags can be removed and machine washed. They don’t even shrink!

I sort our laundry in this order…

  • Whites
  • Lights
  • Brights
  • Darks

Next, above the washer and dryer, I’ve hung some tiny little bookcases to the wall. I love using things for other than they were intended! These were, if I remember correctly, .50 cents each.

wpid-photogrid_1399056753976.jpg

The baskets I keep on the shelves are from the dollar store. They have removable liners that are safe for the washing machine. Here’s what I keep in them….

wpid-photogrid_1399058301981.jpg

 

  •  Purex 3-in-1 Sample 3 Pack (Perfect for Mr. Matrimony to take on deployment)
  • Dry Cleaning Substitute
  • Bleach Pen
  • Machine Cleaning Supplies (I just toss the sponge in with a load after I wipe down the washer!)
  • Mesh Bag for Delicates

 

 

 

 

 

wpid-photogrid_1399058430007.jpg       Stain Fighting Supplies

  • Resolve All Stains
  • Hair Spray (Used for permanent marker stains!)
  • Mrs. Stewart’s Liquid Bluing

 

 

 

 

 

 

wpid-photogrid_1399058357479.jpg

 

 

  • Clothespins
  • Nothing (One of the good things about keeping things organized means you have empty containers next time you need a place to store something!)

 

I have one other dollar store basket in which we keep fabric softener sheets. I’m out of those right now, so if I showed you a picture, it would be of an empty basket. For this one, use your imagination 🙂

And of course, this is where I keep my yard-stick-chalkboard lonely sock crate….

Featured Image -- 1201

I found this neato rack for holding my ironing supplies…

Ironing Board Holder
Here’s a link to buy one of these…. http://www.walmart.com/ip/Neu-Home-Iron-and-Ironing-Board-Holder/8810694

And here is what it looks like, hanging up in our place….

wpid-photogrid_1399058836478.jpg

Mickey Mouse is holding items that need to be ironed. By the way, Southern California dollar stores have all sorts of high quality reusable shopping totes from area amusement parks. Don’t spend the extra money for them at the park! At the thrift store recently, I found an ironing board that is wall mounted, so I’ve sold my other one that used to hang on the rack. The ironing board leaning against the wall is  vintage. I use it for displaying items on when I take pictures. But, my dream is to someday using it for a laundry folding table. For that, I’d hafta fold laundry.

ar ar ar….

We keep our pet supplies in the laundry room. I like to buy leashes to match my outfits. Okay, that’s a lie. The only reason we have so many leashes is because I usually forget to take them on trips. Dollar stores have decent leashes… *sigh* The reason we have so many dog clothes is because we live in an oft cool climate and we have hairless dogs. Actually, that’s a lie as well. We have all the doggie clothes because I think they are too cute and I buy all the clearance ones I can get my hands on! By-the-way… my dogs hate me. Here’s proof…

wpid-photogrid_1399061563117.jpg wpid-photogrid_1399061393380.jpgwpid-photogrid_1399059453147.jpg

Since we have so many accessories, we need a place to keep them. A while back, Mr. Matrimony made this storage unit for me….

wpid-photogrid_1399058761410.jpgwpid-photogrid_1399058719232.jpgThe piece itself is made out of a shelf. He enclosed it on the front and sides, so the doggie clothes won’t fall out. After I painted the whole thing purple, he attached these sweet little doggie bums! They are from IKEA and I think they are only a couple bucks each. To give them added strength, and to keep them from being bumped and falling off, he added a nail to the top of each of them. They are so stinkin cute!

This little antique cabinet is the last piece of furniture my father restored. It has the original wooden wheels! I was so blessed to be able to keep it after he died. ❤

wpid-photogrid_1399059104364.jpg

In the mirror, you can see the bag keeper I found at IKEA. We have others as well. They are great for using in closets to keep kids socks in! In the drawer of the cabinet, I keep winter hats, earmuffs, and gloves….

wpid-photogrid_1399058864322.jpg

 

wpid-photogrid_1399058926482.jpg

On the top, I have a container (it’s a kitchen gadget container I found at Wal-Mart) in which I keep gloves without their mate….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Underneath, inside the cabinet, I keep my larger size laundry supplies….

wpid-photogrid_1399058888938.jpg

Lastly, take a look at what I keep on the top of my dryer….

wpid-photogrid_1399058653374.jpgI make big bins of laundry soap at a time. The container is just what I keep a smaller amount in for daily use. A small trash can for lint keeps it from floating all over the place. I attached magnets to the bottom of that place mat. It’s sort of a catch-all for the lint. It seemed like a spectacular idea when I came up with it. Honestly, I’ll let you know, lol. It seems cumbersome at times. The real truth about why I keep it is because it reminds us to keep the top of the dryer tidy! ha…

Here’s a picture of the entire area….

wpid-photogrid_1399063311628.jpg

Sorry about the glare. My “curtains” are an old quilt and a very used goose down comforter. These windows are going to be replaced someday. Until then, every winter Mr. Matrimony will hang up the “curtains” and leave them until the weather is warm.
It may not be perfect, but it’s ours, and it’s a great place to accomplish a not-so-great chore!

Do you have a dream laundry room or is yours vintage?

 

 

 

One thought on “Vintage Laundry Room Organization

    Melissa Newton said:
    May 7, 2014 at 4:34 am

    Mine is as “a dream laundry room” as I am going to get. It is in the kitchen which helps to keep the laundry caught up… otherwise it takes over the kitchen floor. But I like it much better since Dear Hubby enclosed it with bi-fold doors and added lots of shelving above the washer/dryer.

Leave a Reply

