Freezer Bag Smoothies

Posted on

wpid-photogrid_1398989015767.jpg
I know…. yummy, right???

 

I cannot take credit for this idea. My friend The Singing Honey Bee came up with it. She is a busy girl! Freezer meals and snacks is one way she saves time so she can spend more of it with her family. I hope you will check out her blog with all of her wonderful ideas. Here’s a link….

http://singinghoneybee.blogspot.com/

Earlier, I wrote a post about buying clearance items at our local Albertson’s (here’s that link… https://dumpsterdivingdarling.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/my-adventures-in-clearance-shopping-at-albertsons/ )
One of the things I clear the shelf out of, when available at clearance prices, is yogurt. I usually find the 4 packs for .99 cents, quart containers for $1.59, and individual ones for .59 or .79 each (the individual price may seem high, but that is for the Greek kind that regularly can run upwards of $2 each).

So, one might pose the question, “What do you do with 37 yogurts that will expire in 2 days?”

Well, lemme tell ya!

Disclosure… These particular smoothies are pretty health conscious. If you want something a little more sweet-snackish, you may want to add a little bit of sugar. In the smoothie pictured, Mr. Matrimony placed one pack of Sugar in the Raw. He said it made it “perfect”. I’ll take “perfect” any day, and thanks Honey ❤

The Ingredients~

  • Fruit
  • Yogurt
  • Veggies (This is a scary one for some… it’s optional. That’s why I didn’t include a picture of it. I used frozen kale. Spinach is a great option as well. I promise!)

wpid-photogrid_1398989301316.jpg

Aside from these fruits, I added raspberries from the neighbors garden and over-ripe bananas we had previously frozen.

wpid-photogrid_1398989257789.jpg

These are the yogurts I added. There were more of some kinds. Use whatever you have. Don’t be afraid to mix stuff that sounds weird together. Their really are no rules aside from 1… “It’s all good!”

Once again, I got ahead of myself and forgot to take pictures of much of the process. I do however, have a picture of the dirty over-sized mixing bowl I used to mix everything in…

wpid-photogrid_1398990620285.jpg

All you do is combine the ingredients in a large bow. Stir it up. When it is thoroughly mixed, place the mixture in freezer bags. I used quart size and added what I guessed was the equivalent of 2 servings. Here’s a neat little trick I learned a long while back (I can’t remember who taught me, or I’d give them credit!). When you have filled the baggies, remove as much air as possible without getting any on the seal area (it won’t close tightly if it has fruit in it). Then, place them laying down on a cookie sheet. Freeze all of them together. When they are thoroughly frozen, remove them. Take them off of the cookie sheet and put them back in the freezer. This way, you can stand them up individually or stack them neatly with your other freezer items. It makes so much more room in your freezer! Also, it keeps them from forming to each other in clumps so that they are difficult to separate. The best part is, they won’t sink down in the shelving made of wires. Aside from a complete thawing of the freezer, they are near impossible to remove when that happens.

wpid-photogrid_1398989177437.jpg

When you are ready to make the smoothie, simply remove a bag from the freezer and let it thaw a tiny bit (like, less than 5 minutes). Leaving it in the bag, mush it up and squeeze it into the blender. There is no need to add ice or milk. The consistency as it is should be just about perfect.

wpid-photogrid_1398989211021.jpg

When you get everything mixed, taste it. You may be okay with how it is just like this. Maybe the yogurt you use has extra sugar added, or the fruit is in syrup. Just make sure you try it before you add sugar. No need adding extra if you like it just fine without!

How do you use up things that are taking over your freezer?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Freezer Bag Smoothies

    Lynda said:
    May 1, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    you should show the ones with spinach I like to add sugarfree apple sauce I never thought about mixing them all together like that, think I will try it

      Dumpster Diving Darling responded:
      May 1, 2014 at 7:38 pm

      Oh, that’s a good idea! (The applesauce, not showing the neon green spinach smoothies! lol) I have added apples, but not the sauce. I’ll try that. Those little individual drink mixes are good in it too. Mr. Matrimony likes to add the green tea ones. Not just for flavor, but for the health benefits as well.

    angela pless said:
    May 1, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    gonna make time to do some of these this summer! your blog is just growing and growing and is amazing…im so happy for you ❤

    HomeforNow said:
    May 1, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    Great idea! I also freeze my spinach for smoothies since I don’t like adding ice. I freeze absolutely anything that can be frozen!

Leave a Reply

